Monday, 18 May 2009

OCM Appoints Independent Members To Oversee Election

KUALA LUMPUR, May 15 (Bernama) -- The Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) has appointed a panel of three independent members to oversee its annual general meeting (AGM) on May 30.

The panel, comprising former OCM vice-president Norminshah Sabirin, Datuk Abdul Malik Mohd Salleh and Stanley Charles Louis, started work early this month.

"We have already distributed nomination papers and representative papers for the 12 posts are up for grabs," Norminshah told Bernama here Friday.

She said the panel's establishment was in line with the amendment to the OCM constitution on conducting the election as agreed by the Commissioner of Sports Office.

Previously, the election of office bearers was conducted by OCM staff.

The candidate nomination papers were sent to 34 sporting bodies under OCM while the representative papers were sent to 16 affiliates.

All 34 national sports associations under OCM can nominate three representatives making it a total of 102 voters.

"Last day for accepting candidate and representative nominations is on May 20 at 5pm," said Norminshah.

Election for the 2009-2011 term is expected to see contests for the OCM president's post and honorary secretary. Tan Sri Tunku Imran Tuanku Ja'afar and Datuk Sieh Kok Chi are the holders respectively.

Tunku Imran is expected to be challenged by former Perlis menteri besar Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim, while Sieh by vice-president Low Beng Choo.


No comments: