Wednesday, 20 May 2009

It's Datuk Seri Dr. Ibrahim Saad VS Jegathesan For OCM Deputy Presidency

KUALA LUMPUR, May 19 (Bernama) -- Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) vice-president Datuk Seri Ibrahim Saad has announced that he will vie for the council's deputy presidency, the post held by Datuk Dr M. Jegathesan since 2005.

Ibrahim, who won one of the vice-president's posts in the 2005 elections, said Tuesday the decision was to enable him to contribute more meaningfully to the country's sporting fraternity.

"I've received nominations and I am prepared to challenge Dr Jegathesan," he told Bernama today.

The nomination for 12 OCM's main positions is open until 5pm tomorrow.

Dr Jegathesan, when contacted, confirmed that he would defend the seat he won unopposed in 2007.

The four other OCM vice-presidents for the 2007-2009 term are Prof Dr W. Y Chin, Prof Datuk Zakaria Ahmad, Datuk Roy Rajasingham and Low Beng Choo.

The other two major posts which will see a contest in the May 30 elections are the presidency, which is held by Tan Sri Tunku Imran Tunku Ja'afar since 1999, and the executive secretary, held by Datuk Sieh Kok Chi since 1992.

In the elections two years ago, former Perlis Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim challenged Tunku Imran but he later withdrew from the contest.

Shahidan, however, will again challenge Tunku Imran for the 2009-2011 term after the Amateur Swimming Union of Malaysia, which he led, nominated him for the post.

Sieh will be challenged by vice-president Low.


No comments: