Thursday, 21 May 2009

Kok Chi wins uncontested

By K.M.

OLYMPIC Council of Malaysia (OCM) president Tunku Imran Tuanku Ja'afar and his deputy Datuk Dr M. Jegathesan will be challenged while long-time secretary Datuk Sieh Kok Chi has retained his position uncontested when nominations for the biennial elections closed yesterday.

Tunku Imran, who has held the position since 1999, is expected to be challenged by former Perlis Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim while Jegathesan will be challenged by current OCM vice-president Datuk Seri Dr Ibrahim Saad.

Although the independent elections panel headed by Datuk Norminshah Sabirin declined to name the candidates, the Amateur Swimming Union of Malaysia (Asum) and Malaysia AAU (MAAU) confirmed that Shahidan has been nominated for the top post.

"The posts that will not see a contest are for the women's vice-president, secretary general, treasurer and assistant treasurer," said Norminshah, who is one of three panel members.

"We will officially inform the candidates and the national sports associations first before releasing the complete list of contestants on Friday (tomorrow)."
Incumbent vice-president (women) Low Beng Choo, who was expected to challenge Kok Chi for the secretary's post, retained her position but there will be a six-way fight for the four other vice-president slots.

Incumbents Professor Datuk Dr. Zakaria Ahmad, Datuk Roy Rajasingham and Professor Datuk Dr. W.Y. Chin have all been nominated.

Others expected to be in the fray are SRA of Malaysia president Datuk A. Sani Karim, M.P. Haridas and Asum secretary Edwin Chong.

Incumbent treasurer Datuk Seri Kee Yong Wee and assistant treasurer Rosmanizam Abdullah retained their positions uncontested.

Incumbent assistant secretary (men) Ramlay Ibrahim is being challenged by three candidates while another assistant secretary (women) Moira Tan is likely to be challenged by Latifah Yaakob, who is seeking a post she held before.


No comments: