Monday, 7 June 2010

'Flying Doctor' Now A Tan Sri

KUALA LUMPUR, June 5 (Bernama) -- Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) deputy president Datuk Dr M.Jegathesan was conferred the Darjah Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM) award which carries the 'Tan Sri' title in conjunction with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong's birthday today.

Dr Jegathesan, 67, in his heyday as an athlete in the 1960s was dubbed the "Flying Doctor", and is the holder of the national 200m sprint record till today.

He clocked 20.93 seconds in the event at the Mexico Olympics in 1968 and prior to that was named Sportsman of the Year in 1966 after winning three gold medals at the Asian Games in Bangkok, the same year.

Dr Jegathesan is also the chairman of ADAMAS, the anti-doping body for Malaysian sportspersons, Commonwealth Games Foundation (CGF) medical advisor, Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) medical commission chairman, and a member of the International Olympic Council's medical commission.


No comments: